7 Day Video Review Challenge: Overcome Fear of the Camera

2 Flares 2 Flares ×

Sergio Felix ScaredHello everyone, it’s been a while since my last post about Traveling On The Renfe From Madrid To Barcelona but today I want to fix that and share this self imposed challenge with you.

The main idea for this 7-day video review challenge is that I will force myself to publish a daily post for seven straight days while reviewing a physical product.

I know that for some of you that’s a walk in the park but I don’t have that kind of discipline (or time) yet.

This, with some luck and YOUR help, will allow me to get back on track and overcome this fear I have of the camera.

The Video Review Challenge Plan

Each of the posts will consist on a video review about a physical product that I’m currently using (or will be using) for my internet marketing needs.

I am of course, the owner of each and every single item and I will try my best to review them as thoroughly as I can.

I’m doing this because I have been scared of video cameras since I can remember.

And I have been able to overcome many other fears in the past by just doing one very single task: repetition

I will start with baby steps though, that’s why I’m going to do it for a week long and build up from there.

Amazon Reviews

You are going to be able to find any of the reviewed products on Amazon so don’t expect anything different than that.

I could tell you in advance what I’m going to be reviewing but then again if there’s nothing you would be interested in, then you probably wouldn’t come for all that week so I’m going to keep it a secret for now.

What I CAN and WILL tell you though, is that you CAN succeed without any of the equipment I’m going to be talking about.

But if you have some of these babies in your marketing arsenal then you’re already on your path to become awesome in your online business way faster and with a great advantage!

Far From Being A Reviewing Expert

As I don’t want to be as everyone else, instead of portraying myself as an expert (which I’m not) I will record myself right from the start to end whenever I’m reviewing one of these products.

That can lead to a somewhat dangerous experience as I have witnessed a friend’s Macbook death because he plugged in the wrong cable from a mixer into the aux in jack once and that action fried the audio card on that computer (hope that doesn’t happens to me).

Conclusion

So bear with me on this 7-day video review challenge and I hope you enjoy the follow up posts for next week.

This, is definitely going to be one of the hardest things to accomplish since I’m way uncomfortable on camera.

If you’re anything like me, leave me a comment down below and tell me what YOU are going to do to overcome your fears and I promess I will support your experiment as well.

Speak soon!

Sergio

PS. I know it IS ironic to speak about a video challenge and don’t include a video but that’s how I roll LOL the challenge starts on Monday (don’t forget) so don’t say I didn’t warn you in advance!

2 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 1 Google+ 1 2 Flares ×

, ,

23 Responses to 7 Day Video Review Challenge: Overcome Fear of the Camera

  1. Linda
    Twitter:
    November 12, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Ha! I was wondering where your first video was.

    i am in the same boat as you, actually. I can’t stand being in front of a video camera – I have a hard enough time being behind one and just talking..lol. I get all nervous and words all mixed up – not a pleasant thing for me, but I have done those behind the camera ones a few times, not something I really enjoy, but as they all say – practice makes perfect, right? So, the same applies to being in front of the camera. I am sure you will do fine – you had another video in one of your other posts and I thought it was great.

    Good luck and I look forward to your first review :)
    Linda
    Linda recently posted..CAN-SPAM Act is Being Violated by New Plug-in – Get the Word Out!My Profile

    • Sergio Felix November 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Hey Linda,

      Glad you found the videos and liked one of them (I dislike both of the videos and felt like dying when I was recording them LOL) and like you say, “practice makes perfect”, if it scares the hell out of you, then do it until it becomes natural!

      You spoke about a strong tip here, I think the easiest way to start losing the fear of “public speaking” is to use slides and just talk on the background without appearing on video.

      I have seen this hundreds of times on sales letters and how-to videos and I do feel a strong connection with the speaker whenever s/he speaks confidently, so this is an awesome way to start.

      Thanks for your comment, keen interest and support, have a great day! ;-)
      Sergio Felix recently posted..7 Day Video Review Challenge: Overcome Fear of the Camera My Profile

  2. Patrick Griffin
    Twitter:
    November 12, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Hi again Sergio,

    First of all you really do look scared in the picture you used to illustrate this blog post…in fact I imagine that is exactly how scared you would look if you had decided to publish a video reviewing a product for seven days in a row starting from Monday.

    This is a wonderful challenge and it is great that you have introduced it the way you have because now we all have something to look forward to for an entire week.

    I am excited to learn what you are going to review, how you approach the subject and what your videos look like because I am sure I will learn something from all of them and also be entertained in the process.

    So try and enjoy the process as much as you can and when the week is over you can always post a follow-up blog article about how the seven day video review challenge helped you overcome your fears.

    I am looking forward to Monday already.

    Patrick (another nervous video guy).
    Patrick Griffin recently posted..Special Report (ii): Rob Shoesmith Has Gone From Emptying Bins To Filling Newspaper and Online Media Column InchesMy Profile

    • Sergio Felix November 13, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

      Hey Patrick,

      Great feedback, jotting down your ideas everywhere!

      I don’t think the videos are going to be full of bells and whistles, actually I think they are going to be really RAW! But I want to focus on the content and the character doing the video review (me!).

      Hope to not die in the process and to create something cool to watch, if I can do it, then ANYONE can!!

      Thanks for providing so much support man, I appreciate you! ;-)
      Sergio Felix recently posted..Digital Nomad Out Of BoundsMy Profile

    • Sergio Felix November 14, 2011 at 7:06 am #

      Hey Patrick, forgot to tell you that I wasn’t scared… I AM scared! hahaha

      Cheers man!
      Sergio Felix recently posted..Welcome To Marketing With Sergio FelixMy Profile

  3. Justin Ledvina
    Twitter:
    November 12, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I look forward to seeing you get out of your comfort zone. The good news is the more you do it the easier it gets and eventually it will be your comfort zone. Good luck!
    Justin Ledvina recently posted..What Does Leadership Mean?My Profile

    • Sergio Felix November 13, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      Mr. Justin Ledvina on my blog, wow I’m HONORED!!! :D

      Hey Justin, thank you for your amazing comment, it really makes everything easier when you get this kind of support right from the industry experts.

      I hope it turns out to be a ‘comfort zone’ for me really soon just like you say, I don’t know how much time will it take but I’m willing to go all the way.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your tips, have a rockin’ day!!

      PS. Really looking forward to your videos with Patrick and the TimTech gang! ;-)
      Sergio Felix recently posted..Backpacking EuropeMy Profile

  4. Anna Garnier November 13, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    Hey Sergio, I think the problem you have counts for most of us new internet marketers.
    I’m sure you will overcome your fear for the camera soon. Don’t worry, you’re looking good
    on film, I already told you that :-) Like you said, repetition is the best way to overcome fear.
    Best of luck Sergio!
    Don’t take it too seriously;-)
    I look forward to Monday…
    Take care…!

    • Sergio Felix November 13, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

      Hey Anna,

      It’s funny that I still have this ‘stage fright’ thing going on as I happened to play with my band to thousands of people in the past.

      I got scared at the time too but after the second song I did not wanted to get off the stage! LOL

      So yeah, I’ll just try my best and if it works out, then good; if it doesn’t, then I’ll have to reconsider if I am really meant or not for this IM thing!

      Have a great day Anna, enjoy your Sunday and speak to you on Monday! ;-)
      Sergio Felix recently posted..Going To Real Madrid Vs. Villarreal At Santiago BernabeuMy Profile

  5. Sandy Halliday
    Twitter:
    November 14, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Hey Sergio
    What was that book? ” Feel the fear and do it anyway”. That’s what you have done and good for you. The name of this game is taking action and you are taking action. I am spurred on by your great efforts to try to make a video myself. Perhaps I will pick up a few tips from you.

    I can see the makings of a product here.

    Sandy
    Sandy Halliday recently posted..Get Your Avatar If You Want To Get NoticedMy Profile

    • Sergio Felix November 14, 2011 at 7:11 am #

      Hey Sandy,

      That’s so great to hear and THANK YOU for your support!

      I’m pretty sure that this idea will hopefully help a little bit others to get past that initial fear of being on camera, that is, of course if I don’t die in the process! LOL

      I know that whenever you decide to create your first videos I will love them, so let’s do this together, have a great day! ;-)
      Sergio Felix recently posted..7 Day Video Review Challenge: Overcome Fear of the Camera My Profile

  6. Des November 19, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Good luck with your challenge Sergio and what a great idea.

    I think we’re all a little uncomfortable in front of the camera and you’re journey should inspire :)
    Des recently posted..My 25 Best Traffic Sources For 2012 – How To Increase Traffic To Your Blog or WebsiteMy Profile

    • Sergio Felix November 19, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      Hey Desmond,

      Thanks for stopping by and your kind comment!

      I am currently on Day 6 of this video challenge (still to review today’s product) and in all honesty I can say I feel I have been doing some improvements, although there’s still a lot to go.

      A few have already been inspired and others are almost about to begin their own journey, so you’re completely right!

      Thanks again and hope you have an amazing weekend Des! ;-)
      Sergio Felix recently posted..[7-day VRC] Day 03: USB Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910 ReviewMy Profile

  7. Adrienne
    Twitter:
    November 19, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Hey Sergio,

    I first have to tell you that I LOVE your photo. That’s too funny and you’re just showing us all how very scare you really are. Trust me hon, we all started out there. You already know my story of how long it took me to get my first video online.

    I applaud you for taking this challenge and making yourself do this. It’s facing the fear and doing it anyway. Pretty soon you’re going to be teaching other people how to shoot videos and how to upload them to YouTube. Heck, you’re already a pro. Look at how many people STILL haven’t started! See how much further you already are!

    Thanks for sharing this Sergio! I’m loving them already.

    ~Adrienne
    Adrienne recently posted..Lessons I Learned From A Truly Great ManMy Profile

    • Sergio Felix November 19, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

      Oh wow, thank you Adrienne!!

      I know many people still won’t get started even if they see this process I’m doing here.

      So I’m willing to put my ‘best to the test’ and try to not only do scary videos but hopefully better videos and it’s important that I document all the process so people can’t say stuff like: “oh but he works with computers” to justify themselves for not getting started.

      I think I started really BAD but I am improving (or at least that’s what I like to think LOL) and I think that’s all that matters in the end, getting started!

      Thanks for all the support and befriending me on YouTube, I feel so loved right now! :D

      PS. I also thought the photo was hilarious! haha
      Sergio Felix recently posted..[7-day VRC] Day 03: USB Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910 ReviewMy Profile

  8. Barry Wells
    Twitter:
    November 29, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Hi Sergio, I know I’m going back to front my friend but having landed on your latest post i wanted to know more about the 7 day review challenge.

    Sergio, I congratulate you on facing your fears and for encouraging others to do the same thing. I loved the photo of you being scared, it really made me chuckle :lol: but summed the feeling up very well.

    I love the fact that you wrote this post to make yourself accountable and followed it through. i will make a point of reading and watching your video posts and reviews.

    It’s only by pushing ourselves through our fears that we’re really able to progress in anything we do, but doing it online to a wider audience makes it that much more scary so we need to push that little bit harder.

    You’re a perfect example of someone doing exactly that Sergio and I hope that many others follow your lead.

    Take care,
    Barry
    Barry Wells recently posted..Learn With Sally: All Good Things Must Come To An EndMy Profile

    • Sergio Felix November 29, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Hey Barry,

      No worries my friend, the mere fact that you’re interested in watching what I did to overcome my terrible fears of recording myself on camera makes me happy!

      It was tough but it was not impossible and it took me a loooong time to actually decide to grab the bull by its horns and actually do it.

      But like I’ve been saying all over the blog, if I could do it, then anyone CAN!

      Thank you for your interest and your great feedback Barry, I really appreciate it! ;-)

      PS. The first reviews were reaaally bad haha the post where I have the summary is very cool to watch.

      If you can, watch the two latest videos on that post, you’ll get a good laugh from those, I am including the post in the link of this comment.
      Sergio Felix recently posted..Overcoming Fear Of Video Creation: 7-Day Challenge SummaryMy Profile

  9. Linda
    Twitter:
    June 16, 2012 at 2:18 am #

    Hi Sergio
    I enjoyed reading your blog… I too am not wanting to do the video, I dont look at anything that involves creating a video on Warrior Forum WSO’s I guess we are now going to have to give it a go!
    Good luck with Deans challenge
    Linda

    • Sergio Félix June 16, 2012 at 6:19 am #

      Hey Linda,

      Well I’m certainly really FAR from being great on camera but at least I’m not afraid of doing the videos anymore LOL

      I have found that whenever you seek to get uncomfortable is when you make the most progress so give it a go, it’s really not that bad! ;-)

      Thank you for stopping by and I wish you the same with Dean’s training.

      Take care Linda and have a great weekend! :)

  10. Paul Clutterbuck June 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Hey Sergio,

    I have the same fear of being in front of the camera. Although I do practice in the mirror in the bathroom to help me get over the fear one tiny step at a time. When it comes to me releasing a product I would like to have a video sales page with my in front of the camera.

    • Sergio Félix June 23, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      Hey Paul, practicing certainly helps!

      Once you do actually realize all that you’re doing is talking to some piece of digital equipment that is not even a living thing, everything gets so much easier.

      You’ll have to go through the whole thing with live talks on skype, interviews, maybe even live speeches with a live audience, so talking to a camera in the comfort of your office, may be the easiest milestone so get it going already, good luck! ;-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Great Blog Post Ideas (Challenge) - December 8, 2011

    [...] Challenging yourself – A great idea by Sergio Felix about overcoming your fears online. Sergio had to overcome the fear of recording himself on video, [...]

  2. Dean Holland’s QSC Week 2 + Blogging Tips - June 18, 2012

    [...] In case you are still on the fence about recording your first video, I would love you to check out this post: 7-Day Video Review Challenge [...]

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

© 2014 Marketing With Sergio. All Rights Reserved.

2 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 1 Google+ 1 2 Flares ×